It is believed by some that people should take yearly driving test to ensure safety on the roads, while others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, a debate regarding road safety has emerged. In particular, some people propose that a driving test should be taken every year, as a measure to increase safety. In my opinion, while it could be effective, this proposal is unrealizable. In this essay, a brief explanation of the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that mandatory driving tests could rise road safety for a series of reasons. First and foremost, the majority of drivers do not respect the traffic laws and, as some studies suggest, it is the main cause of incidents. Enforcing the new proposed rule would reduce the number of reckless drivers on the streets because many of them would fail the test. Furthermore, many people should be tested because of their worsening physical conditions, such as the elderly, but even younger people that go through some health condition, that with yearly controls may be not allowed to drive. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to state that drivers should be tested every year. On the other hand, this proposal will be difficult to enforce because of moral and organizational issues. In fact, mandatory renewals of the driving licence every year would have too much impact on many people who need their licences to work, such as taxi drivers or logistic workers. If the proposed law would pass, probably the employers in sectors that have the licence as a requisite, would not offer multi-year contracts, thus impacting the lives of workers. Moreover, it would be logistically difficult to manage the organization of tests, because it would at least need an increased number of testers, whereas some countries, for instance,Italy, are facing shortages with only new drivers exams to manage. For these reasons, enforcing the proposal would be nearly impossible. In conclusion, I partially disagree with the argument that people should take a yearly driving test, mostly because it would be difficult to realize. While it could achieve its objective, as stated above, there are many organizational and social issues, that could simply be not overcomeable. In addition to that, probably many people would not be favourable to this news and would fight to prevent it from being implemented.