Some people say that economic development is necessary to reduce poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stopped as it damages the environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often said that financial growth is a solution to economic difficulties around the world. However, this issue is not entirely straightforward, and an argument can also be made against the idea, especially in terms of the environmental effects of economic growth. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support financial development claim that new business opportunities will emerge with the growth, causing new job spots for the population who are coping with poverty. Examples can be seen in countries that have technologically developed recently such as the United States or China. In these countries, many people who were seeking jobs now have highly-paid occupations in the new factories on technology. Furthermore, if countries had powerful economies, this would provide a fund to subsidize increasement society's welfare. Centres for homeless people and scholarships for students can be given as examples. To proponents of this idea, these reasons are convincing. By contrast, the critics of the financial improvement point to the view that new factories will be built to expand the economy, resulting in disposing hazardous waste into rivers and thus water pollution. This would destroy the natural habitat of rivers and seas, and eventually affect human health. In developing countries, for instance, the top issue of the governments is water pollution which is caused by industries and this problem needs an additional budget to solve. Moreover, uncontrolled growth of the economy leads to rural migration toward cities and thus urban sprawl would be observed. This results in deforestation because of cutting trees to build skyscrapers, so an increase in carbon dioxide emissions and air pollution. Metropolis can be given as examples for economic centres and the most air-polluted areas in the world. These are also strong arguments against the idea. In conclusion, I would tend to side with opponents of economic growth. Although this may be seen as a remedy for financial struggle, it has significant adverse effects on the environment. It would be logical to prohibit this growth and protect the environment from destruction.