Some universities deduct students’ marks if work is given late. What is your opinion and recommend some alternative actions for this problem?

It is a common practice at some universities to penalise students if the work is submitted after the given deadline, in my,opinion this is a good practice and not a problem. It is the university's job to train the disciples for the real world, by deducting the student's marks for handing over the assignment late. It makes sure that they learn that there are consequences for missing a deadline. At, Universities it's the marks however, in the field not meeting a deadline can have adverse results. For instance, let's take a look at the construction industry, for any project that is under construction there are millions of money invested by the investors. These investors have calculated their ROI (Return on Investment) based on the stipulated time of completion given by the owner of the project. However, the construction firm hired to execute the architect's drawings is not sticking to the given timeline resulting in a delay of the project by at least 6 months. Imagine the losses faced by them just because the firm failed to deliver the project on time, the loss of 6 months of revenue is quite high. Since it's the owner's responsibility towards the investors, they shall have to pay for the loss in revenue. It was the firm's duty to deliver the project without any delays hence, failing to do so the owner shall in return penalise the firm by cutting their pay/agreed fees. To avoid such mishaps the universities are strict with their deadlines, deducting the marks of students to prepare them for the outside world. Nonetheless, there is still an alternate route to this problem. Instead of penalising the students they should teach them the importance of time and how they should manage it to avoid future problems. Usually, a student is unable to meet the deadline because they lack time management skills and are overwhelmed by the task at hand. Hence, universities should teach them how to prioritize tasks that can result in much greater efficiency from the pupil. To conclude, some universities are actually doing the correct thing by penalising the students for not meeting the deadline, just the way they would in case one fails to meet the deadline set by a client. Nevertheless, an alternate pathway should be practised by the universities like teaching the students the importance of time and how to complete a task efficiently.