The large amount of time and money that is spent on conserving wildlife would be better spent on improving the lives of humans. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, a debate regarding wildlife conservation has emerged. In particular, some people argue that the funds allocated for these kinds of projects would be more necessary to improve the human condition. I think that this is not true and that as humankind we are obliged to preserve nature. In this essay, a brief explanation regarding the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that it could be beneficial to spend more money on improving human lives. In fact, there is a constant need for funds in humanitarian projects, and every penny is important. For instance, the UN calculated that with an expenditure of 30 billion per year, the hunger problem would be resolved. As a result, it seems reasonable to affirm that the billions spent on conservation could be spent in other manners. Furthermore, many people simply do not see any advantage in nature-related expenses. On the other hand, the conservation of wildlife is far more important than what the population think. Firstly, preserving natural habitats is fundamental for humanity, because changes in some important zones of the planet can have consequences on a worldwide level. For example, the pluvial forests constantly exchange carbon dioxide with oxygen, and for this reason, they are called the "Earth's Lungs", and without their wildlife, they would not exist. Given this, it is difficult to say that money spent on preservation could be better used. Moreover, since it is human activity which is disrupting their habitats and putting animals and plants on the verge of extinction, is human's responsibility to ensure that a negative scenario does not happen. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with those who say that wildlife conservation is a waste of money. As stated above, if wildlife safety is ensured, our own safety is, and with our activity that is more and more putting in danger the planet, we are morally obliged to find remedies to our mistakes. For all these reasons, under no circumstances conservation activities should be labelled as useless.