In the last century when a human astronaut first arrived on the Moon he said: “It is a big step for mankind”. But some people think it makes little difference to our daily life. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The last century was defined by global changes and discoveries and landing on the Moon was definitely a scientific and technological breakthrough. Though not everyone agrees that this big step really makes difference for an average human being. In my opinion, space exploration has literally enabled us to widen our horizons, but made little changes in the way we live as other achievements proved to be more useful for everyday routine. In addition, space exploration is quite a narrow and complicated sphere of interest and not many people are really into it. First of all, if talking about scientific achievements that made much difference to our lives, in my opinion, the Internet rather than astronauts on the Moon has become a big step for mankind. The global electronic web facilitated communication and made it possible to create new things whereas landing on the Earth's satellite doesn’t seem to impact our activity directly. I strongly believe that astronomy enriched modern science, though it is difficult to see its results in a modern household. Secondly, few people are interested in space studies. They are mostly specialists who work for government and amateurs who are really into it. The majority of our planet’s population is not concerned about what is going on beyond the ozone layer. For instance, an average citizen in any developing country worries about such down-to-earth issues as salaries, bills or mortgages. To sum up, universe exploration does not seem to influence our lives dramatically, but, on the other hand, it proved that human science has developed significantly over the last century.