Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The Crime rate in this modern world has reached to an alarming rate. While some are of the opinion that government authorities should take necessary action to curb the crime rate, others argue that people should take care of themselves from these crimes. This essay will discuss both arguments and state why balance between these two arguments are necessary to reduce the crime rates. It is often believed that government has the authority to prevent criminal acts by implementing stringent laws. This means that these measures can inflict fear among the citizens to commit any unlawful acts. Hence, strict law enforcement can reduce crime rates. Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, for instance, have the lowest rate of crime because the country has one of the strictest laws against offensive activities. This shows that there is a strong correlation between strict law enforcement and crime rates. Conversely, some hold the belief that citizens should take necessary actions to protect themselves to reduce the risk of becoming a victim. To explain further, individuals should avoid activities that can lead to violence or harm. For example, sexual harassment or rape occurs mostly in night clubs and parties because these sexual predators know that young girls can be an easy target when they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. These wrongful acts can be prevented if potential victim are being well aware of their surroundings. This proves that individuals being cautious can lower the crimes. However, I advocate that both of these two approaches should be in a balanced manner to cutdown the number of criminal activities. There are may cases where offenders can get away from punishment even with strict laws. Furthermore, someone can become a victim even though they are extremely careful. Therefore, It is necessary to have balance between strict law and individual responsibility to minimize crime rate. In conclusion, although government hold the main responsibility of protecting the citizen from crime by imposing tough rules, individual should be cautious and take appropriate measures to guard themselves from criminal acts. These two approaches are crucial to build a crime free society.