Some people think governments should spend as much money as possible exploring outer space. Others argue they should spend the money for poor people. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to considering billions of US dollars spent on space exploration by countries worldwide, there is a growing debate over whether we should resolve issues like poverty before focusing too much on this space race. Although the people of our own planet should be our priority, ultimately broadening our horizons is significant. First of all, urgent issues that require immediate steps such as caring for the indigent still remain in our society. A trip to space aggravates the gap between the rich and the poor. India, for instance, is planning a prohibitive cost for the voyage to Mars while people are suffering from hunger. If we are preoccupied with space exploration which is quite ambiguous and impractical, aside from the realistic problems, eventually we would draw a blank. However, those in favour of massive investment in outer space exploration would place an emphasis on the virtues of better understanding our cosmos. There is no doubt this kind of field is the most mysterious and fascinating. The more we continue studying outer space, the likelier there are high possibilities to unlock the secret of the cosmos. Moreover, space expeditions guarantee the long-term survival of humanity. If the earth becomes an inhabitable environment, developing space stations or the ability to colonise other planets can provide us with a series of salvation. In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against spending massive expenditures on space expeditions, but I am convinced that the cost should be directed towards the development of space travel.