Some people think that being born to a poor country is a bad luck while others believe that it only helps fuel one’s aspirations to succeed. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, a debate regarding the birthplace and its impact on life has emerged. In particular, some people affirm that borning in a poor country is an affliction, whereas others say that it gives more motivation to improve one's condition. In my opinion, there is little to no benefit in being born in the so-called "Third World". In this essay, a brief explanation regarding the matter and the opinion will be given. It is undoubtedly true that, to some extent, being born in poverty can be a fuel to aspirations. In fact, seeing all around yourself only misery, together with seeing your family struggling to afford the most basic items, can be a great motivation. For instance, there are many cases of people born in difficult environments, that can be not only in poor countries but also in peripheric neighbourhoods, emerging in various sectors and affirming that the context in which they grew up helped to accomplish their objectives. Furthermore, being poor helps to be more committed to the objective, without distractions along the path. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to affirm that borning in poor countries can help fuel aspirations. On the other hand, there are a series of issues related to the birthplace that simply cannot be overseen. Firstly, many of the governments of these kinds of places do not provide any service nor guarantee basic education, two of the most important tools to build someone's success. Moreover, if an individual from a poor country tries to enter the same niche as another person from a more developed place, will start from a less favourable position and could not be able to compete. For example, this is the case with many entrepreneurs, that see themselves overcome by people with a similar idea and more means to realize it. Finally, someone could have the greatest idea in the world, but it could not be possible to develop where he has born and could not be accepted in other countries, forcing him to give up on his dreams. In conclusion, I think that being born in a poor country is definitely bad luck. While it could be true that poorer individuals could be more inspired, it is as well true that they could be prevented to achieve greatness by their environment. For these reasons, under no circumstances it could be affirmed that borning in a harsh birthplace could be helpful.