Some people think that the detailed criminal description on newspapers and TV has bad influences, so this kind of information should be restricted in the media.

It is argued that reporting crimes in detail in printed newspapers and on television is detrimental; therefore, it should be limited. I completely agree with this notion since it gives rise to criminal acts and people’s anxiety. The first reason for my view that crimes should not be reported meticulously is because it encourages viewers to violate the laws. More specifically, numerous teenagers tend to follow or replicate infractions presented with detailed procedures, methods and tools mainly because they have great curiosity or they want to make a grand impression by proving that they can be better than the person who committed the original crime. For instance, Shinochiro Azima, a 14-year-old student in Japan killed two students in 1997 by cutting off their heads after watching a documentary about an American criminal, the Zodiac Killer, who performed the same acts. As he was being interrogated, he admitted that he imitated this horrible act since he wanted to impress other people. Consequently, this may pose a threat to social stability due to growing crime rates. Another justification for why I oppose the detailed presentation of crimes via the mass media is that members of the public’s anxiety can be triggered. This is because they may consider their community unsafe and then hesitate to connect with others as too many cruel acts are reported in the media. They would likely feel afraid of being a victim of a potential crime and constantly experience a sense of insecurity. As a result, it could lead to a loose-knit community where people are not willing to support those in need. In conclusion, I strongly oppose the idea of presenting detailed crime reports on newspapers and television because it provokes more individuals to be driven to crime and arouses people’s apprehension. It is advisable that the details of the crimes should be completely banned to minimise its adverse impacts on viewers.