In modern age, some people think it is unnecessary to teach children the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, a debate regarding handwriting has emerged. In particular, some people affirm that, given the new technologies available, there is no more need to teach how to write by hand to the children. In my opinion, this is not true, because knowing how to write on paper can be beneficial for various reasons. In this essay, a brief explanation of the matter and the opinion will be given. It is undoubtedly true that handwriting has lost a great part of its importance because of the IT revolution. In fact, nowadays the majority of documents are written with a personal computer because of the many advantages it has. For instance, writing with an electronic device is more rapid, can help to proofread and is more understandable, because the letters are standardized and not subject to the quality of writing of the author. Furthermore, people with issues such as dyslexia, find it easier to write on a keyboard than with a pen, thus facilitating them. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to say that handwriting is surpassed and is unnecessary to teach it. On the other hand, handwriting has some strong points that simply cannot be overseen. Firstly, some studies suggest that writing on paper can help memorise what is written, hence it could be an important skill for students. Moreover, when learning another language, writing it down is a powerful method used to increase comprehension of what is studied. For example, it is always suggested by language teachers write down what has been said. Finally, it is important to always have a backup plan, and having understandable handwriting could be fundamental in case of major blackouts. In conclusion, I think that teaching to handwrite is still important and should not be avoided. As stated above, there are still many advantages to this activity, hence it could be as important as knowing to speed writing with a PC. For these reasons, under no circumstances it could be said that it is unnecessary to teach handwriting in schools.