Employers should give their workers at least one month’s holiday a year, as it makes them better at their job. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Several countries across the world have implemented labour laws that guarantee several rights to workers which include 30 days of time off. However, this vacation time is highly controversial. While some people believe that it may improve employees' productivity, others argue that might be prejudicial for businesses. Opponents of this vacation period argue some economic disadvantages. Mostly small to medium- size companies cannot afford to hire individuals to replace those that are on vacation. Therefore, many projects would be put on hold until the persons who are responsible for return from vacation. Not only might this be prejudicial for companies, but also for their peers at work. For instance, if some workers took time off, their colleagues would have to work more to cover the work of those who are on vacation. Although I agree that the above arguments are valid, I do not believe they outweigh the numerous benefits that vacations might bring to people. Firstly, it is particularly important for mental health. Indeed, several research studies have shown that we all need spare time for leisure and pleasant activities to keep us mentally healthy. Secondly, it might improve productivity. For example, last year I went on vacation in Japan with a friend who works in an advertising company, and during this trip, she had a bright idea for a commercial. Once she returned to her job, she was inspired and full of energy to implement this new project. In conclusion, some company owners might argue that they cannot afford vacations for their employees. However, at the end of the day, if they have healthier workers, it might be cost-saving for several businesses.