**There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems.** **To what extent do you agree or disagree?**

Lack of housing facilities is a worldwide headache not only in third-world countries but also in developed nations. There are several reasons behind this burning issue such as lack of land, economical crisis and increased population. Even though houseless people are seeking a solution for this issue, still, most of them are unable to find a proper solution. The governments should develop local policies to short out this obstacle. However, there are several non-government organizations also helping homeless people. House shortage causes dozens of bad consequences including health and psycho-social outcomes. Homeless citizens living in slums and on roads face severe health impacts. They are more vulnerable to developing infectious diseases such as tuberculosis, hepatitis and infective diarrhoea. Meanwhile, they lose their privacy and females can involve in sexual abuse. Living without proper shelter cause severe mental trauma and depression. The children are unable to find a proper environment to study and their education is markedly affected. Therefore, the rulers should take the necessary actions to handle this matter. Solving these issues depends on a huge amount of money, geographical assessment, political agenda, and availability of other basic facilities. Therefore, the administrators should take more responsibility to overcome this dilemma. The parliament should allocate enough funds to build an adequate amount of houses. Land departments must select the appropriate location for this project. However, apart from the national or local government, there are many non-profit organizations working in this field to help the homeless nation. For example, UNICEF, ICRC and the world bank are implementing several projects to build houses for needy families. Further, charity organizations also take part in housing projects in many countries. Sometimes, a few local well-wishers provide a significant contribution to the poor citizens. In conclusion, as the housing shortage has a huge bad impact on the nation, the relevant governments must take adequate measures to solve the problems even though some non-government institutions also contribute to a certain extent.