In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

With the development of the economy, the past several years have witnessed a social phenomenon that more and more families paying attention to the history of the constructions they currently live in. As far as I’m concerned, there are two main reasons: 1) the first one is about the ages of the properties, which might be so old that the public doubt whether they should be rebuilt in the future. 2) the next concern is whether the surroundings of their houses are suitable for residential or marked as uninhabitable. I would elaborate on the two points in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, as for the age of living houses, the “older” the construction is, the riskier for habitants stay in. It is mainly because the quality of bricks would be sharply declined or destroyed with time flying, and then they would be humid or crispy, which depends on the local climate. Not to mention, when facing a storm or a typhoon, constructions with old school structures which are not designated to defend against natural disasters, might be crushed into fragments in a second. How dangerous it can be, no wonder that more and more civilians are becoming interested in finding out about what has happened to the buildings they are living in now. Secondly, previously communities were inclined to live in the city centre to enjoy a more convenient and modernized life, so their residential communities were surrounded by shopping malls, hospitals, gyms, restaurants and other social institutions, crowded but animated. On the contrary, an increasing number of people are fond of de-modernized life, and they want to move to somewhere quiet. For example, the number of suburban communities has climbed considerably in Beijing. So this obvious trend illustrates that the surroundings of current apartments are unsuitable to live in. If the public can exploit the original design of the construction, they might have the chance to recommend that the government could help them reconstruct the building itself or plan a new blueprint for the block they are staying in. Following the former two reasons, civilians could hire professional engineers to check the health conditions of buildings and output a report for the next steps, which could determine whether further reconstructions should be included. Then people could do some research or gather information from the Internet to verify that, whether there are any significant changes in facilities or other infrastructures. In conclusion, when people are concentrating on the stories behind the buildings, they are seeking a sense of safety. Whenever it happens, the government should pay attention to this phenomenon, and find respective solutions.