In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes that have occurred? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

This modern society has experienced a dramatic change over the last few years related to family structure and members’ main duties in their own families. From my perspective, this transformation brings many upsides to all members of families. To begin with, There are many differences regarding family structure and family roles. While most families in the past were extended families, including more than three generations living together, people turn to live in nuclear families. One obvious reason for this shift may be in terms of privacy. That is to say, individuals want to have more private space, which hardly can be found when living with many other members. In terms of members’ roles, because of under Chinese domination for a long time, fathers played a part as breadwinners who focused on earning a living while mothers were housewives whose duties were to take care of other members and do the household chores. However, nowadays, women play an equal role as men in generating income. Many of them can even earn as much money as men and preserve the family nest. Needless to say, women can have a say in any important decisions in their families. These variations are believed to have many advantages for everyone. The first benefit is related to human rights. In other words, each person has their own right to chase their dream and manage to achieve their goals. For example, children including both boys and girls nowadays are allowed to go to school. As a result, they are given equal opportunities to be successful when they grow up. The second highlight is regarding spiritual life. Men may have less burden on finances as their wives contribute to the family budget. Also, women feel more comfortable when their husbands share the housework and support their decisions in life. In conclusion, the transformations offer many upsides such as individualism, privacy and spiritual life. Thus, it is essential for individuals to adapt to these positive changes to make the world a better place to live.