In many countries people are having health problems because they choose to live a unhealthy life. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In recent times, it is observed that the number of citizens suffering from ailments has increased multifold. One of the main reasons is that they consciously elect to live an unhealthy lifestyle. One may wonder about the reasons for the nudge of choosing an unhealthy passive lifestyle over a healthy active one. In my opinion, one of the main reasons for this nudge is the lack of public open spaces. For instance, in India we do not have many open recreational infrastructures for the public. With the rise of shopping malls and commercial spaces in the country, the development of parks, playgrounds and other such facilities is neglected. Since we do not have access to such facilities, in our spare time we either rush to shopping malls or spend the time indoors watching TV or playing video games. Thus, intently choosing a passive unhealthy lifestyle. The rise of Fast Food culture has also been a primary part of the problem. Since fast food is mass-produced it is available at a very low cost. For example, a burger at McDonald's is available at a very low rate as compared to a salad. Hence, people intentionally choose to have a burger. Additionally, Working Individuals prefer to have fast food because it is delivered in a very short time frame. Thus resulting in getting more time at hand for work. The solution to this problem is quite easy and reasonable. The government should actively opt-in for the development of open public spaces like playgrounds, parks, running tracks and other such facilities. By making these available for the public at large, citizens will surely prefer to spend time in such spaces rather than the same old shopping mall. Government should also levy heavy taxes on unhealthy food products and subsidiaries for healthy products. Thus, nudging the individuals to buy a healthier option. Another solution can be that businesses and corporates can serve/provide their workforce with only healthy food products in the canteen. To conclude, citizens are intentionally choosing the sedentary lifestyle because of the lack of open spaces in the country and the availability of inexpensive mass-produced fast food. Hence, Government should promote the development of open recreational spaces and levy heavy taxes on unhealthy food products.