Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In recent times, globalisation has had a negative impact on some aspects of people's lives. There are languages spoken by a minority of people in some countries which are on the verge of extinction. Some believe governments should hold the responsibility whereas others think money will be wasted using for this kind of purpose. This essay will discuss both views and provide the writer’s viewpoint. Those who opine that governments should bear the responsibility support their view as follow. Since language and culture cannot be separated, it is believed that by reviving the language regardless of the number of speakers, the cultural heritage will be maintained. One benefit of this is that governments may be able to even make more money by allocating the exclusiveness of the language in order to boost the rates of tourist visits and also online supporters. Thus, the money spent will be worthwhile. Others, on the other hand, take the firm conviction that it would be useless to invest in such languages. They argue that because of low quantity speakers, even if they vanish, probably no one will ever realise their existence of them after a few years. Moreover, money is better spent while using more commonly used languages, English for instance, so that people will be able to communicate with people all over the world rather than just the locals. From my perspective, I take the view that public money could be spread in more significant industries. Take health and education for example, people can benefit from higher education levels and better healthcare services for free if the government considers using their money for their own good. To sum up, although there are some plausible reasons in both groups. I personally think investing money in parts where people can see the results are far more beneficial. Therefore, by exercising its power and devising appropriate plans, governments can help people live healthier and more knowledgeable lives.