In many countries, city planners locate offices, schools, homes and shops in certain areas so that they are separated by distance. Do you think the advantages of this practice outweigh the disadvantages?

In the majority of countries, offices, schools, homes and shops are planned in particular zones to help their citizens. I think that the drawbacks are eclipsed by the benefits. Firstly, a well-planned city protects the environment and lowers the impact of commercial sites on society. Nowadays, there are loads of fabrics which pollute considerably the atmosphere, by decreasing the layer of ozone. Therefore, the rate of radiation is increasing significantly, which affects directly people. For instance, according to a recent survey provided by British scientists, for people who lived in a polluted city, the level of diseases such as cancer increased noticeably by around 40%. Furthermore, city planners who locate all the fabrics correctly, improve the healthiness of society. Secondly, plenty of people live in residential areas, where schools and parks are located nearby. It is said that parents are more relaxed about their children who can easily study, play or enjoy their leisure time in the parks or schools. For example, people prefer to live in a small town such as York and Norwich in the UK, instead of big cities, because the offices are located far away from homes, which decreases the agglomeration and the traffic jam. Therefore, a city with a logical plan of several buildings might improve the quality of life in society. On the contrary, the major drawback might be the necessary time which people spend in traffic jams to get to the offices or shops. If those edifices weren’t built far away from home, people wouldn’t rather spend more time arriving at their destination. Hence, this situation could lead to plenty of problems such as depression or anger. For instance, researchers have shown that people from big cities in the UK suffer from depression while they are driving or staying home. In conclusion, a well-planned city helps people to live in harmony, to be happy and to enjoy their life. Furthermore, the environment is protected and the quality of the life is increasing remarkably.