All students should do some volunteer work in their own time to help the community Do you agree or not ?

One of the most controversial issues today relates to whether the high school should include unpaid community service compulsorily as part of the programmes. Many parents are of the opinion that it will be beneficial to the students when they work for a charity and improve the neighbourhood, just to name some examples. Personally, I am convinced that community service should be part of high school programmes for several reasons. There are a handful of advantages that community service brings to youngsters. To begin, it helps teenagers to develop excellent interpersonal skills. Admittedly, it is more valuable to do unpaid social work than stay at home and play with electronic devices. It provides teenagers with an avenue to socialise with others, and encourages them to exchange their thoughts with people of the same interest. It is indirectly helping them to develop crucial socialising skill which plays an indispensable role in their studies and their prospective job. They will be benefited by learning how to communicate with people around them and respect others' opinions. In short, community service will benefit the students by giving them an opportunity to meet new friends and thus widen their friendship cycle. Apart from that, teenagers will be more patient and have higher endurance after working in community service. To illustrate, when they teach the younger children about sports, they are actually learning the value of being more patient which cannot be learnt from textbooks. To pick up this good value can only be acquired through practising. On the other hand, teaching children about sports is proven to be an effective way of destressing. In the twenty-first century, even citizen including student is becoming more stressed than in the past. Thus, they can keep their mind off their studies when doing something not related to their academic studies like community service. To put it in a nutshell, community service can educate youngsters to be more patient which is essential in dealing with troubles. In conclusion, I think that community service should be implemented in high school programmes as there are numerous advantages of carrying out community service. Our nation will continue to prosper and flourish if there are more well-educated individuals being raised.