Some museums and art galleries charge admission fees, while others have free entry. Do you think the advantages of charging for admission outweigh the disadvantages?

Many museums and galleries require an entry fee payment before entering, whilst many do not have an entrance fee. Personally, my firm conviction is that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits of charging fees for those places. The main disadvantage of the entry fee for museums and galleries is that it will reduce the enthusiasm of the public to visit. The price of cultural places will put financial burdens on some people, especially those whose incomes are below average level. When there is a fee for entrance, those unwealthy people may not visit the museums anymore, because compared with other sorts of living costs, the entrance fee for cultural places is not necessary and could be cut down. By contrast, if museums and galleries are gratis, more citizens would like to visit without worrying about the payment, but just enjoy their civilisational trip. For example, when there was a 10$ entry ticket to the German National Museum, 10,000 visitors went there every day; however, when it became free, the number of visitors apparently doubled. To sum up, the weakness of the entry fee is severe. Admittedly, the benefit of charging an entry fee is to support and guarantee the operation of those institutes. For most museums and galleries, ticket income contributes to the biggest part of the revenue, which is the basis of further and deeper development, including purchasing more exhibits and arranging creative exhibitions. However, from my perspective, the financial problem of cultural venues could be tackled by other resources that are relatively more reliable and steadier, such as governmental or personal sponsorship, which could generally cover the cost of museums and galleries as well. Raising funds from the government or other rich people could fulfill the economic gaps caused by the free entrance. To recapitulate, the drawbacks outweigh the upsides of charging fees for museums and other kinds of cultural venues. Thus, I recommend all the museums and galleries could open to the public without entry fees.