Some people think that in order to prevent illness and disease, governments should make efforts in reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People find themselves at loggerheads regarding the issue of whether administrators should struggle with environmental and residential circumstances to win the battle against illness. Personally, I believe that parts of the above statement are sound, but not totally compelling for the following reasons. On the one hand, alleviating environmental destruction could interrupt the transmission of disease. Cleanliness and hygiene are guarantees of individual health, which could interpret why plenty of diseases are widely spread in areas with dirty surroundings, such as slums, gutters, or small sewage-ridden. On top of that, ameliorating accommodation conditions is beneficial to hamper the transmission of disease. For instance, during the covid period, it has been proven that the infection rate in areas with better housing standards is lower than in crowded spaces, for sufficient spaces are necessary for isolation, therefore steering clear of the disease hazard. Thus, investment in environmental protection and accommodation is indispensable for hampering illness. On the other hand, pumping funds into environmental protection and building construction could merely address public health problems in a relatively indirect way. With the aim of reducing disease, what governments should do first is to subsidize scientific and medical research. Vaccines, targeted drugs, and specific therapies are dominantly pivotal facets to combat disease, which are utterly based on experimental research. For instance, the reason why human beings could defeat malaria is the discovery and in-depth medical research of the pathogen and medical treatment. By contrast, fighting pollution costs much time to overcome the disease problem. To sum up, administrative departments should seek other directly efficient solutions to address diseases. To conclude, from where I stand, improving environmental and residential conditions is essential, but authorities should also give financial support to medical subjects that are targeted at resolving public illness problems or so.