Today a lot of different cultures and ethics groups live together in one country. Why is this so and do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, many States saw a growth in cultural diversity among them. In particular, more and more ethnic groups now coexist in the same place and I personally think that this is a benefit for the countries and their inhabitants. In this essay, a brief explanation regarding the matter and the opinion will be given. Starting from the reasons for the phenomenon, there are two major causes, that are strongly linked. Firstly, the globalized world has helped to put together different markets, including the jobs one, by facilitating the movements of items and services. As a result, people now find employment not only in their country but also in others, hence relocating and bringing their cultural background to the new environment. Furthermore, nowadays individuals are more prone to move to better life places, especially those from poorer countries. This is linked in part to globalization, which has spread the idea that everyone is a citizen of the world, thus increasing the possibilities for people to relocate, and, when they do, they bring their traditions. For example, Europe has seen increasing rates of foreign citizens in some countries, especially Germany and France. Regarding the consequences, it is undoubtedly true that, even if coexistence can be difficult, especially for older generations, increasing cultural diversity is a positive development. In fact, various ethnic groups can bring their point of view in every aspect of life, creating discussions that can be an occasion for cultural enrichment. For instance, some studies suggest that the so-called "melting pot" is one of the reasons for the US's economical position in the world. Moreover, other research suggests that the companies with more diverse compositions among their teams are the most successful ones, because their different backgrounds allow them to find the most efficient solution to almost every problem. In conclusion, not only do I think that the coexistence of cultures is a positive phenomenon, but also that it should be encouraged even more. As stated above, this can create more opportunities for all the populations involved and can help to overcome issues thanks to better mental flexibility. Given all this, it is difficult to state that the possible detrimental effects could overweigh the benefits of the phenomenon.