In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the cause of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It’s not enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the rate of crimes and homicides is increasing significantly. In order to reduce the occurrence of this problem, some people claim that the authorities should target the root cause of crime, like poverty and lack of education, instead of focusing solely on the number of policemen on the streets and imprisoning criminals. Personally, I partially agree with this idea as I think that both solutions are equally important. To begin with, focusing on reducing the levels of poverty plays a huge role in dropping the rates of crimes. In other words, an important number of homicides are due to the lack of money and low financial incomes. For instance, some lawbreakers, such as drug dealers, commit this type of crime in order to get fast and easy money. Furthermore, providing interesting educational opportunities for individuals belonging to the low socioeconomic class significantly reduces the rates of homicides as it enlightens their intellect. Acting on these two aspects is effective at reducing crimes, however, it is not enough. By putting more police in the streets and implementing strict rules, the lawbreakers will have to think twice before taking action. An example to illustrate this would be how much the number of thieves gets significantly lower during the periods when the authorities put more criminals in the prison. To summarize, I personally agree with the fact that as we fight poverty and provide educational opportunities for all socioeconomic levels, the level of violation of the law mostly drops. Nevertheless, the authorities should implement strict rules and provide more security in the streets as well.