With the wide use of computers and the Internet, people can study and work from home without going to school or company. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

We are living in an era in which technological advancements have provided us with new approaches to learning and working, such as participating in online classes and working from home. However, from my point of view, the detrimental effects have surpassed the merits. The following essay will help to strengthen my point. To begin with, there are undeniable benefits to learning online and working remotely, such as it would help people to begin their job or learn with fewer preparations. This is because when attending online courses, students and workers can save a lot of time from travelling to schools or companies, thus they can wake up later and still be ready before the class or work starts. For example, a student can wake up at seven forty-five and can attend a class that starts at eight. Moreover, working remotely from home and studying online can help reduce the emission that is emitted into the atmosphere by transportation. More people taking part in online courses or conducting online meetings means that fewer vehicles take part in traffic, thus reducing the exhaust fumes, and the air would become cleaner. For instance, during the outbreak of Covid-19, society is forced to stay in their own accommodations to avoid being infected, and the environment has been recorded to be significantly improved. However, there are certain drawbacks to this new method of learning and working, namely the reduction of concentration and children cannot develop soft skills such as communication as well as teamwork. When working remotely, people can be distracted since they are in a cosy and familiar environment, instead of a professional one, so there are a lot of factors that could potentially take them out of their given tasks. For instance, a mother could spend more time around her kids and temporarily ignore her job, since working from home allows her to be around her offspring, thus decreasing her concentration power and also reducing productivity. Furthermore, in homeschooling, soft skills such as teamwork or communication prowess cannot be taught. The reason behind this is that while attending online courses, children do not get enough socialization as they do when going to school. Taking teamwork as an example, when learning in a virtual class, teachers can assign students to many groups, but they would not cooperate with each other and stay silent. To conclude, the advantages of online education and job are undeniable, nevertheless, this new approach could lead to a lack of personality development and a reduction in productivity, which have overshadowed the merits. Hence, the traditional method of going to school and company is still relevant.