Scientific developments in farming always bring major benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, more and more beneficial developments in the agricultural branch are becoming possible. Consequently, farmers are more prone to adapt their farms, yields and livestock to the new farming methodologies. It is clear that applying meaningful changes to their farms implies a massive amount of money and time. However, the benefits these developments can bring are several and overshadow the negative aspects. In this essay, I will shed light on the pros of farming development and on the reasons why it should be supported. To begin with, the technological revolution in farming led to improved efficiency and quality in crop production. As a matter of fact, there is always an increasing amount of new technologies that are capable of conducting human work in less time and with fewer costs. For example, farmers are beginning to use smart tractors with GPS and a tracked route. In this way, they are able to reduce the number of workers, as well as to save fuel costs, since it is an automated system. Furthermore, the usage of these new technologies and tools can improve sustainability. As a case in point, many farmers have chosen to utilize drones to survey crops. The reason behind this decision not only lies in the upgrade in precision but is also motivated by the fact that drones permit farmers to avoid using pesticides. For this reason, without the application of pesticides, farmers can contribute to supporting more sustainable activities and farms, that are fundamental to our planet’s wealth. Nevertheless, it is believed that some developments such as GMO production can be dangerous to human beings. Recent studies have shown that, despite being cheap and tasty, GMOs can cause several allergies, due to their modified DNA. Owing to that, many people are reluctant when it comes to embracing these developments. Even so, nowadays many tests are constantly being conducted on GMOs, to provide safer products. Taking all that into consideration, I strongly believe that scientific developments in farming do bring many benefits to farmers and, consequently, to consumers. It is clear that there is a demand for stronger evidence that these improvements are really beneficial to our health and need to be safe so that consumers will not fear them.