The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

I believe society spends too much time on mobile phones. People spend their day on mobile phones because the information is easily accessible. Another reason why people spend time on their mobile phones is to keep close contact with others, especially in emergency situations. With the invention of the smartphone, knowledge now more than ever is easier to access. A smartphone is a useful tool when trying to research a specific topic or keep up with current events. For example, a person can be riding the bus and can read the BBC on their mobile or research a specific topic on Wikipedia. As a result of this new age of information, the technology has made it nearly impossible to not spend vast amounts on a cellular device. Furthermore, cellular wifi technology is constantly improving. The improvement of cellphone towers and satellite systems allows people to stay in contact in greater ranges around the world. For instance, Elon Musk’s Starlink network allows the public to have a cellular range even in the most remote areas on the planet. As a result, it is extremely difficult to disconnect from your mobile device as many people tend to suffer from the fear of missing out. To summarize, populations spend too much time on their mobile devices. Due to the fact that information is easily accessible, it is difficult for a person to explore other means of research. Also, with the vast improvement of cellular range, technology does not give an individual an incentive to disconnect from their mobile.