Computers are becoming an essential part of school lessons. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Information technology is becoming a ubiquitous part of learning. This essay will examine some benefits that this trend may bring and also some drawbacks that must be taken into account. Then, I will explain why the advantages are more relevant. The most substantial favourable aspect of this is that computers bring learners easy access to vast amounts of resources. Learners were once limited to the books they had and the knowledge of their teacher, now they can learn about anything they choose at the touch of a button. Google is a prime example, because it allows people to easily search for whatever they are looking for quickly and accurately. On the other hand, some downsides could also be considered regarding this trend. One possible drawback is that using the internet to complete academic work can sometimes lead to pupils copying articles from the internet. As a result, students do not have to think about their tasks and learn very little. The Sunday Times recently reported that 72% of college graduates in the UK admitted to copying and pasting Wikipedia articles at least once. Overall, it is a very positive development because most students will take advantage of the power of the information superhighway to enhance their studies, rather than using it to cheat. For example, in 2005 Cambridge University found that students who regularly used a computer were 26% more likely to get a first-class degree than those who did not. In conclusion, the web has provided a gateway to knowledge unlike anything seen before and although it can sometimes lead to a few taking the easy route and plagiarising, it is a very positive step in the evolution of education.