Should governments make decision about people’s lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

All along history, people wanted to become more independent from their governments which were usually ruled by one person. Consequently, today we have more rights compared to any time before. However, many people still argue that they need more freedom. Personally, I think that we have to share some part of our freedom with governments to live better in peace. On the one hand, in 21st century countries should not be ruled by people having absolute power. This leads to corruption, slow development and many other problems. For instance, we could compare living and business conditions in countries with and without democracy. When people have a right to vote and change the situation, authorities will not be able to ruin the situation in the contry. On the other hand, we should not go too far. The problem here is that for some people freedom means doing whatever they want. What I think is that it is impossible to live together in society and not following any rules. For example, If humans could do whatever they want, they would rob, kill and do everything which will benefit them no matter what will be with others. In conclusion, I consider that governments should make some decisions about our lifes and make us follow the law. If they did not do it, we would live in a chaos and never get peacful and developing world. In my opinion, freedom is when you have independent courts, rights to vote and do not have a fear of your own government.