Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

Excessive littering has become a major issue which requires addressing and in some people's opinion introducing stricter laws will resolve this problem. I think apart from having stepper fines, it is necessary that government takes other measures as well. To begin with,the Government can reduce littering by providing more bins which can be added in different parts of towns and cities.Existing bins are too small in size and get filled up very quickly. For example, people often find bills full and have to walk farther to find empty ones. Secondly, the littering issue is more apparent on some days than it is on other days. For instance, weekends are the busiest times in towns and cities. Most people go out and many of them end up eating takeaway food after the night out. The Government can provide been collection service on Saturdays and Sundays, which will reduce littering. However, it is also true that increasing fines can is an effective way of dealing with increased littering. For instance, fear of being caught littering and having to pay fines might discourage many from throwing rubbish on the ground. In conclusion, increased littering has become a major problem in many countries which requires solving.Many believe that stricter fines are the correct way for addressing the problem. Although changes in laws will discourage many people from lettering, I believe that the correct way of addressing this issue requires more measures such as the addition of bins and more frequent collection.