Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family mostly through social networking sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family mostly through social networking sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? I believe young people using social network sites is an advantage. Social networking sites have become a large part of society and the use of this recent technology will only increase in the future. Moreover, youth will have the means to teach elderly people how to use social network sites. With the constant evolution of the internet come social network sites. Nowadays youthful adults are using social networking sites because it is an easier means of communication. Sending a text message to get an answer has become a lot easier than meeting with someone face to face, especially if the person is located thousands of kilometres away. For example, if an individual’s business partner is on a trip and they need information about a product then they could send a text message via WhatsApp and hope for a reply within a few hours. With a telephone call or meeting face -to- face that is usually not possible and sometimes impractical. Using social networks can also enhance the older generation. The elderly are used to speaking on the phone or with someone face to face and most likely feel overwhelmed by current social network sites. Young adults can teach the elderly how to use current social network technology to keep them current. This will benefit both young people as it will teach them empathy and to be patient with the older generation. As for older people, they will have an opportunity to learn a more convenient technology to possibly make their lives easier. For instance, Facebook messenger will provide an organized means for the geriatric population to stay in contact with their friends and family. To summarize, young people using social network sites is an advantage. Youth will be able to keep up with developing technology through these sites. Furthermore, social network sites give young and old people a reason to bond.