Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are widely differing views on whether pupils should be given homework or not since there is an opinion that it is vital in the educational process. I am inclined to agree with the second statement, as a revision of information at home is an inevitable part of the memorising process. Practice at home is considered to be a challenge not only for children but for their parents, as they need to motivate their little ones to do it and monitor them. Additionally, not every mother or father has enough time to devote to this. It is, therefore, tempting to exclude home tasks from the school programme. This will reduce pressure on both parents and children.It is worth noting, that such trial programmes have already been implemented. In some private schools in Ukraine, for instance, students do not have any tasks given to do at home. Turning to another viewpoint, children need to revise information learnt at school themselves, at their own pace, in order to remember it better. Self-studying at home, moreover, builds up self-consciousness. It has been proven by scientists that to be transported from operational memory to long-term information should be revised in 24 hours and then in one week. This illustrates that just gaining some knowledge at school might not be enough. To sum up all of the above, although there is a tendency of excluding homework as a part of school programmes and for some,families it might be beneficial, I once again reaffirm my position that homework is crucial, as it is a crucial part of the memorising process and results in deeper pieces of knowledge.