Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities and centers with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is this a positive or negative development?

The elderly prefer to stay in places for only retired people instead of staying in their children’s houses. It seems to me that this condition has surely plenty of negative impacts on both elderly people and their families, and I will explain why in this essay. The major obstacle would appear to be the disappearance of family units, resulting in the destruction of society. By, this we mean that the root of a population is composed of families, especially extended families. If these units started to separate, this would destroy the whole population gradually. A further issue relates to possible mental health problems in older communities which can be caused by staying away from their children and grandchildren. It is undeniable that folk are more contented and have less stress when they have family around. For example, according to a recent study, the majority of old nations who are coping with anxiety live far war away from their offspring, which demonstrates the significance of unity of all family members. One final point against this proposal is the lack of healthcare services in these kinds of organizations. It is an inescapable fact that the progression of a current disease is likely in these centres due to inadequate personal care, which clearly makes family houses more secure and healthier. In a retirement centre in the United States, for instance, roughly half of the population had asthma after they moved to the place due to a lack of ventilation in personal rooms. Admittedly, retirement communities offer a social environment for elderly people because it’s an opportunity to communicate with their peers. Nevertheless, this advantage is overweighted by the downsides of this situation which may lead to depression and stress for them. In conclusion, it seems reasonable to provide a safe area for people when they are in the later stages of their life. However, it would be more logical for older people to live with their daughters and sons, due to mental and physical health problems that this situation may induce, and probable adverse effects on the community.