There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming, and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

A large amount of evidence shows that growing car use is a major contributor to global warming, as well as negatively affecting the health and well-being of people. This is a serious issue, but one that may be dealt with in several ways. One possible approach would be to take the long-term view and subsidize electric car use. Technology has come a long way and electric cars are safer, technologically superior, and most importantly cleaner than their gasoline-powered equivalents. However, while electric cars are increasing in popularity, it is unlikely to make much of an impact in the short term, so longer-term measures are needed. Another successful idea is for governments to invest in multiple public transport options. Evidence shows that well-maintained, reliable, and frequent means of transport such as bus, rail, and tram are regularly used by the public. For example, just look at the increasing ridership of busy subway systems from Boston to Beijing. Such a system would undoubtedly reduce traffic, though take time to establish. A more immediate, cash-flow-positive solution is to directly discourage car use. Increasing road taxes on people with more than two cars, and road pricing schemes such as a traffic congestion charge during peak traffic times would reduce the number of non-essential car journeys and encourage people to use other forms of transport such as buses. The additional money earned from this can be invested in alternative means of transport for people to use in place of the car. In conclusion, while car emissions are a growing threat to both the health of the planet and individuals, electrifying cars, mass transportation systems, and traffic management programs can help to mitigate the issue in the short and long term.