What is the importance of extended family in child development?

Nowadays, the concept of a nuclear family setup is on the rise. Owing to this, the importance of an extended family in a child’s development is often debated. Some people opine that it does not make much of a difference. Whereas some feel that since these days both parents are working, the extended family members play a vital role in young ones development. This essay will elucidate the significance of family members in the upbringing of a child. So, the young generation usually faces certain circumstances in life where they are unable to share it with their parents. These kids will prefer turning to their grandparents or uncle and aunt. For instance, in case of a fight with a fellow classmate or getting low grades in an exam. This is because they fear how their parents will react and they could be barred from pocket money or they might get punished. It is imperative that kids share such experiences with their loved ones so that they get appropriate guidance to distinguish between good and bad. For this reason, it is helpful for youngsters to be surrounded by family members. Moreover, in order to maintain a good standard of living, both men and women have to work. So, it is the grandparents who spend more time with the young ones. It is often seen that they narrate stories and share past experiences with children. This helps them to understand holistic views of life and mistakes that can be avoided. For example, it is seen that the guidance and training provided by the older members help in the overall child development. Apart from that, they help kids to learn culture, traditions and language which otherwise could have been missed. Hence, the significance of extended family members cannot be ignored or taken for granted. They play an impeccable role in a child’s life.