It’s important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

No one can deny that early childhood is the fastest physical and mental growth age. Children learned and developed habits quickly at a young age. Some people argue that children in their toddlerhood should be punished for unfavorable acts in order to instill good behaviors. I completely disagree with the idea of punishing a young child because it will cause more harm to innocent brains than good. Undoubtedly, toddlers are uncontrollable and sometimes they are involved in activities that make parents and teachers upset. However, one should know these little angels are in the learning process and all stuff they do is out of their curiosity to seek how things work in our world. For instance, if a child ruined the mother's makeup, or throw a glass on the floor does not mean it was carried out intentionally. The young children should be explained politely about what consequences they could face if they do a particular act. For example, if a child helps his best friend at school in cheating exams should be explained in a manner that his helping nature does not get affected but he realized cheating is wrong. Furthermore, parents and teachers should use rewards instead of punishments for children's good acts. Evidently, in toddlers, some behaviors are intolerable such as beating or bullying other children. The parents or teacher can put a child in time out or simply ground them from watching cartoons for a while and later explain to them what is wrong with such behaviors. Nevertheless, aggressive punishments will make children stubborn and they will disobey any rules. To conclude, young children should be given rewards for their good deeds, and if there are any intolerable bad deeds then they should be given low-level punishments for better outcomes.