Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, people have come across a variety of advertisements through televisions, magazines, and even social media. Although some people believe that there are many advantages of advertising because it can attract plenty of consumers, I am of an opinion that current advertisements do not play a critical role in making customers pay attention to them. On the one hand, some people argue that advertising is the most effective way to persuade purchasers for noteworthy reasons. The most remarkable one is that it is extremely useful when people have to decide what they should buy. To use a common example, all advertisements contain a large amount of detailed information about products to widely publicize them. Information specified in advertisements allows consumers to fully understand about handy features and outstanding advantages of certain products, which means that advertising could emphasize a good impression of goods, and people are highly likely to buy the things. On the other hand, other people disagree with the above statements for other conclusive reasons. The most important reason in this regard is that, nowadays, advertisements are less informative rather than ones in the past, this is because most advertisers are now obsessed with merely creating suggestive and provocative content. These advertisements often exaggerate the qualities and features of products, and occasionally only depend on the popularity of models by appointing famous celebrities or sports stars. Consequently, it would cause consumers not to look up the advertising whenever they purchase products. In conclusion, when all specific reasons and relevant examples are evaluated and considered, I strongly believe that advertisements have been too common, and they are not efficient means of attracting consumers because their drawbacks outweigh their benefits.