In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

With the vast developments of society and technology, we seem to be less available and more occupied than ever. One requirement of a such busy schedule is careful time management. Fast food seems as an asset to this way of living. However, with the merits offered by fast food, come detrimental drawbacks such as health-related issues. I strongly believe that any measure, such as tax implementation, in favour of lowering the everyday consumption of these foods is beneficiary. Firstly, the cuisine we often refer to as “ fast food “ is improperly prepared, containing ingredients that don’t seem to have adequate nutritional value. For instance, there has been a multitude of health professionals criticizing well-known fast food chains for the use of hormonally enhanced meat, which the FDA has made apparent is harmful. This, in turn, has a direct impact on an individual’s well-being, increasing the chances of obesity, high blood pressure and cholesterol, diabetes, and so on. A similar levy of that on cigarettes could be introduced, leading to similar results of a decrease in purchasing. For example, the excise of cigarettes in Southeast Europe led to a successful decrease in smoking, with countries such as Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovakia and Bulgaria consequently reporting fewer cigarette purchases annually. Secondly, the introduction of a taxing system will impose adequately higher prices on these products, levelling them with organic and local ingredients and foods. Moreover, the increase in price poses an excellent encouragement for individuals to partake in the consumption of higher-quality food instead. This will result in a richer variety of foods consumed and especially in the arrangement of a better overall diet, which is the most essential requirement for a higher standard of living, both on an individual and societal basis. To conclude, I am in favour of fast food taxing, as I believe that it has become more of a nuisance to global health, rather than a commodity. With the very same system, people could be met with encouragement for better alternatives.