Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some think that the use of the internet can be an open way for the invention of communication tools globally. In fact, in the process of the evolution of communication, people need to concern about the consequence that possibly affects social relations. I extremely agree with that notion, and this essay will elaborate on my standpoint thoroughly with some evidence provided. On the one hand, it is undebatable that the development of the internet is bringing some evolution in communication. It is apparent by the emergence of social platforms that help people to interact with others worldwide irrespective of region and time zone. In the earlier of 2010, some people experience the digitalised of messenger and phone calls from depending on the credit phone balance to the free messenger and call access by BlackBerry Messanger; Furthermore, it moved to a more sophisticated application that enable people to make a live video call by Whatsapp or facetime. It is proven that the internet deliberately unlocks some barriers in society to be connected with others globally. However, in the process of communication expansion, it indeed inevitably affects the way people interact with their surroundings. It unconsciously changes people's behaviour in society which actually brings people closer to the far yet separates those who are nearby. Although the advancement of social platforms enables people to get closer to the people who live in remote areas, it also creates a gap for the people who are near. Nowadays, it is common to see some groups gather in a particular place such as a restaurant but did not show a close conversation with others, each member is most likely into their gadget; That is most likely having another chat with others that doesn't belong in that offline gathering. In conclusion, despite the advantage that the internet brings to society, people also need to be aware of the effect caused by internet development on human being interaction. Otherwise, it can make the relationship with the closest one further apart.