More and more people around the world are learning English as a second or foreign language, even in countries where it is not used in daily life. What are the advantages and disadvantages to this?

English has become an international language which connects people across the world. The main reason for this is the colonization of the world by the British Empire in the past. Having a common way to communicate with people across the globe has several benefits as well as some disadvantages. Firstly, with the rapid development of social media, the internet and transport, the world has become a global village. For example, a person can chat with someone from a faraway country through Facebook, date a foreigner through websites, study online at a foreign university and work abroad. Hence, learning an international tongue such as English is essential to daily activities as well as for professional development and job opportunities. Also, when a person knows only his native language, his opportunities as well as his vision will be limited. Secondly, people who live under the governance of oppressive regimes and radical religious leaders can read and communicate with other countries and can enlighten themselves about basic human rights. On the contrary, learning English also has certain disadvantages. For instance, the beautiful cultural and religious diversity of the globe might be lost. Globalization has led to the extinction of several unique cultures. Children have started learning their basic lessons from kindergarten in foreign speech, which has led to a communication gap with their parents. Thus, the future generation will contribute far less to the literary works in their mother tongue. For example, India which is a country with hundreds of unique languages and cultures has lost its uniqueness and children have lost their interest in native literature. Also, certain studies suggest that learning in the local dialect is essential for the brain development of kids. To conclude, though learning the Anglo-Saxon language as a second dialect has its cons, it has countless benefits and it is essential for human evolution.