In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is no doubt that we are living in an era in which most children are taught that hard work will help them achieve their goals more than ever before. On one hand, telling children that they can achieve their goals through hard work rather than innate talents has many benefits. It can inspire children who doubt themselves and help them overcome challenges. For instance, learning a second language is hard and takes time, but children can improve their skills if they work hard. This can also develop a positive mindset and resilience in children, which are important for their future. On the other hand, the idea that hard work guarantees success can also be misleading and harmful in some cases. Sometimes, hard work is not enough and children need to recognize their strengths and weaknesses. For example, a child who wants to be a professional singer may not have the natural talent for it. Instead of wasting time and effort on voice training that may not work, they could find other ways to use their talents and achieve success. The same goes for painting, which requires a unique sense of aesthetics that cannot be learned by hard work alone. If children ignore this reality, they may end up feeling frustrated, deluded, or even mentally ill. To sum up, teaching children that hard work leads to success can motivate them and help them cope with difficulties. However, this message can also backfire in situations where hard work is not the main factor. Children need to balance hard work with realistic expectations and self-awareness.