Some feel that it is important for all adults to engage in the arts in the free time as a hobby. Others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about what kinds of activities adults ought to participate in during their free time. While some emphasise the importance of arts -related hobbies, others believe that leisure pursuits should be regarded as a matter of personal choice. This essay will discuss both perspectives before giving a personal view. Engaging in the arts can help reduce stress and anxiety. Many individuals may barely get proper rest and work full-time jobs in a stressful environment, causing problems with both physical and mental health. Research suggests that most of the mental health patients are office workers because of long-term workload without appropriate methods to express emotions. Therefore, the arts can be a medium to release their minds and emotions, such as playing instruments, painting, and dancing. In addition, such hobbies also enhance creativity and develop problem-solving skills. On the other hand, many people disagree that the arts are essential for all adults. This is mostly because artistic pursuits are not appealing to everyone, and encouraging individuals to engage in them may fail to deliver genuine benefits. Others may prefer more pratical and physically active hobbies, such as sports and gardening, which they consider equally fulfilling in their leisure time. For instance, people who play tennis are generally happier and healthier than those without any hobbies. In conclusion, the arts uniquely effective in allowing individuals to express their emotions. However, in my opinion, spending free time on pursuits aligned with personal preference is more important, as everyone has their own way of maintaining well-being.