Subjects like arts, music and drama are more important than other school subjects and therefore should be given more time in the calendar. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, a debate regarding art subjects in school emerged. In particular, some people argue that arts, music and drama are more important than other subjects, thus school schedules should reserve more time for them. I partially disagree with this view, because actually they have plenty of time and other subjects are equally or more important. In this essay, a brief explanation of the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly true that artistic subjects are important in children's growth. Firstly, this first exposure to fine arts can develop in someone some sensibility to them, which can be the start of a career in the arts industry. For instance, many artists stated that their interest started during the first steps of their education. Furthermore, some studies suggest that arts can help create mental flexibility, a skill more and more required nowadays in every work position. Given all this, it is not entirely inaccurate to advocate for the increase of time given to music, drama and similar matters. On the other hand, the importance of other teachings cannot be overseen. In fact, subjects such as mathematics or language studies are at least as important as arts and pupils do not have many occasions to practice them as they do in schools. For example, arts can be pursued more easily during free time, as can be seen by the fact that many people have a form of art as a hobby, while this is more difficult for subjects like mathematics. Moreover, in some countries, schools already provide additional time for fine arts with optional activities outside the normal schedule. In conclusion, I disagree with the idea of giving more space to art, music or drama in spite of other subjects. As stated above, the other subjects are important too, and if anything, they are the ones who need more time, because it is difficult to come in contact with them outside educational systems. For all these reasons, school schedules should not be changed in favour of the arts.