Given the rise in criminal activities across the world, many people believe that long jail term is the only solution to this problem. Others, however, think that it is re-education and rehabilitation that holds the key to solving this problem. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many countries are facing several issues and the increasing crime rate is one of them. A section of society believes that life imprisonment is the best solution for this issue, whereas, others opine that proper education and rehabilitation are the proper solutions to fix the issue. In my opinion, punishment should be decided not only based on the crime but also on other factors as well such as mental condition. To commence with, criminals who are terrorists and serial killers should be treated with paramount precaution and not allowed to stay in society. Because their ultimate motivation is to kill people which is very dangerous for humankind. Apart from this, their only intention is to spread threats across the world and we cannot provide an education to them as they are already being brainwashed. Therefore, there is no point in treating them as normal criminals and rather sending them behind the bars or announcing capital punishment. On the other hand, there are many people who are drug addicted and suffering from mental issues because of the bad environment. These people mostly commit crimes because they always need all these drugs at any cost. Therefore, through rehabilitation sessions, we can treat them and cure their issues and give them a second chance to live in society. Besides, individuals who are extremely poor commit crimes to meet their basic needs. As a solution, by providing education and livelihood we can deal with the issue and reduce the crime rate. To conclude, based on the impact of the crime and other factors punishment should be declared. the people who are spreading terror should not be allowed live freely, and others who are mentally unstable should be given one more chance to make themselves better.