Social media such as Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram has replaced face to face communication in our everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages.

In the modern world social networks have completely changed the way we communicate. Today people prefer to keep in touch with their family and friends using social media and messenger services like WhatsApp or Viber. This trend is considered to be a negative one as digital communication is replacing real-life chats, though social networks can be beneficial for users rather than harmful. Firstly, people who live far away from each other can still be updated about each other's lives and communicate much more often compared to what could be if a social network had not been invented. It is possible due to the fact that social networks facilitate the search of people all around the globe and suggest easy and cheap ways to communicate via messengers. For instance, my fellow students, whom I studied with at school and university more than a decade ago, live in different countries now, but thanks to Facebook I know what happens in their lives and can send them a message any time I want. In addition, social network users can choose whom they want to speak to and how much time they want to spend chatting with a particular person. For example, if a user doesn't want or doesn't have enough time to speak face to face or visit his friend on a festive occasion, he can just write a congratulatory message to his friend, or send a smile or a gif on Facebook or Instagram. To sum up, social media is considered to have a negative impact on the way we communicate, but, on the other hand, it has advantages that definitely overweigh the drawbacks and suit the needs and habits of a modern person.