Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sugar is the biggest enemy of the human body. Nowadays, many processed food and drink products contain extreme sugar levels, which results in health problems. It is believed that if sugar products are made pricey, it will cut access to sugar for many individuals resulting in less sugar consumption. I disagree with the notion, however, both sides along with reasons will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, raising the prices of sugar will be very beneficial to people around the world. That to say, poor people and middle-class people will have to think twice before buying the products. This will definitely reduce the sales and consumption will decline. For instance, kinder joy is a product for children which was not that costly but with the prices hiked in the past, it saw a great reduction in its sales. Hence, increasing prices means less consumption and it means people will be free from diseases. On the other hand, the other side of the coin is worth noticing and it can't be ignored. The proportion of the middle class and riches is more compared to the poor people, hence they won't be affected by the price hikes. In other words, they will continue to consume sugary products despite the increase in prices. Moreover, there have been real-world scenarios where has seen no change in certain groups of people with surges in prices. Thus, increasing prices won't stop people from consuming more sugar through products. In conclusion, although there will be certain poor people who will be prevented from buying such products, this will not be the ideal solution as many people will not be affected at all. Therefore, other ways should be found along with this idea.