Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves.

Some people argue that we no longer remember the original meaning of festivals and that most of us tend to see them as opportunities to have fun. Although enjoyment is partially crucial, we shouldn’t neglect the value of our traditions. Occasionally, people believe that whatever they do in their life, without enjoyment, seems meaningless. That is why they would like to find happiness in particular events, such as competitions, holiday activities and festivals, including traditional ones. Instead of paying attention to traditions and religions, they only care about enjoyment in festivals. For instance, in Myanmar in 2019, 80% of Burmese celebrated the local New Year festival called Thingyan in modern festival sites, whereas only 15% went to traditional ones. Many senior citizens assumed that it has an enormous impact on local culture in the long term. No matter how enjoyment plays a crucial role in our life, we ought to be heritage local culture and traditions. In a recent study by Spring University in 2022, every ethnic group across the globe used to have their own culture and traditions, but 35% of them had already disappeared because of not being inherited. If we don’t celebrate local festivals in traditional ways, we also need to mind that it is going to be replaced by modern celebrations and eventually forgotten. To conclude, while enjoyment is essential in partial circumstances, celebrating traditional festivals also needs to be maintained. For this reason, people should focus on traditions and religions in celebrations rather than defining them as fun.