Some countries have legal ages at which people can drink. Other countries believe not have strict laws is a better policy. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There have been competing views on whether age constraints should be imposed on citizens who drink or not. In my opinion, there should be strict policies on the legal age for drinking in order to curb behavioural misconduct and its associated effects. On the one hand, a society without strict legal ages at which members of the society can drink provides citizens with a sense of freedom to make their choices on the various types of drink they want irrespective of their age and this has a positive effect on the rate at which people buy drinks thereby, increasing the income of people selling these products and the country's economy. Conversely, some of these people are unable to drink healthily and cautiously which is highly detrimental to their health, finance, career, relationship and future. On the other hand, countries with strict legal ages at which members of society can drink which is usually an age restriction for children below 18 years who are not permitted to take alcoholic drinks usually make such restrictions in other to protect children from inappropriate drinking due to peer pressure, inability to make right choices due to immaturity, curiosity or bad influences. Therefore, reducing the rate of juvenile delinquency and its associated risk such as; truancy, drug addiction, alcoholism, rape,high school dropouts or thugs can affect their academics, health, future and society as a whole. For instance, law restrictions in countries prohibiting the sales of alcoholic drinks to children under 18 has cubbed the drinking of alcohol among teenagers thereby, reducing behavioural misconduct among adolescent in schools and increasing their zeal to learn which result in academic excellence and a reduction of crime rate in the society. In conclusion, whilst some countries feel that there shouldn't be a strict legal age at which members of humanity can drink in other give citizens a sense of freedom, I believe it's best to implement legal age restrictions on drinking in other to protect children under 18 years till they are matured to make right decisions independently without been influenced by others.