Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Taking a gap year in some countries is commonly recommended to young people who have just finished high school. There are a number of benefits and drawbacks of spending a year travelling or working for youngsters. On the one hand, taking a year off after finishing a school may have bring some advantages for young people. Firstly, they can improve their outlook by travelling to different countries and learning cultures, which may help them in their further education at universities. Secondly, they can earn some money in order to pay university tuition fees, and valuable work experience they gain in the workplace may make them ready for the future competition in educational settings. Finally, a gap year helps them make a perfect career choice as they have a great opportunity to work in different places. On the other hand, a year between finishing a high school and entering university may be disadvantageous due to several reasons. The main reason is that young people who spend a year outside of studying find it hard to get back to things like doing homework since they are likely to lose their study habits and abilities. Another primary disadvantage seems to be high costs of travelling. Although they can make a good amount of money from working, they will probably end up with having no enough money by only travelling. If they only work without any travelling, they may feel depressed and think themselves behind their peers who are studying at university. In conclusion, spending a year off until taking a university education may have both positive and negative sides for young people at the same time.