A lot of people believe that the amount of violence shown on TV and in the cinema affects the actions of our young people and therefore increases the amount of violence in our society today. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be done to reduce violence in our society today?

Nowadays, watching violent scenes on television and cinema has a great threat to the changes in behaviour among the youth in society. I agree with this statement and the government should ban movies that have extremely violent content. To begin with, cruel films that are shown to the public have the possibility to infect young minds. Moreover, it affects their mental health and gives insight into committing crimes. Apart from that, the habitual viewing of these brutal shows would result in adopting aggressive behaviour. For instance, binge-watching disturbing movies like "Salo" where wealthy people abused their power and used to abduct specifically 12 to 15 years old, exposing them to drugs and hopelessness but to follow their commands. I believe, the government should not allow this type of movie to be released. Without a doubt, the government has the full authority to prohibit these types of movies. Furthermore, a stringent law should be enacted to warn filmmakers about breaking this rule. Since the government has full authority in releasing these films, therefore they should limit the availability of these to the general public. If this regulation is strictly followed it would result in lesser crimes and could save the future of the young generations. For example, Philippine TV has a regulation board committee which is responsible for releasing films on TV and cinema. In conclusion, the amount of exposure to violent movies has tremendous effects on how people misbehave. I believe these types of movies give youngsters the idea of doing mischievous acts. The government could protect the welfare of youngsters by implementing laws to prohibit the availability of this kind of movie to the audience.