Most people accept that we now live in a globalised world but not everyone agrees this is beneficial. To what extent is globalisation a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answers and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Globalisation has brought about tremendous changes in world history. Whether these changes have proved to be beneficial for society or not is often debated. Some people believe that it has led to an exchange of cultures and has brought a lot of other positive developments which otherwise would not have been possible. In contrast, some others opine that it has led to certain negative developments as well. This essay will elucidate the pros and cons of globalisation in the forthcoming paragraphs. Indeed, globalisation has positively impacted the world economy to a large extent. It is only because of this that corporates have been able to operate as multinationals in various countries. This has led to an increase in employment opportunities as well as cultural exchange. Moreover, globalisation has encouraged avid scholars to learn various languages. For instance, many Indians are keen to learn foreign languages such as french, german, Spanish, etc. This helps them to become translators while conducting business with various countries. This has only become possible because of globalisation. However, just like every coin has two sides, globalisation does have certain drawbacks. It has led to a loss of culture and tradition. For example, nowadays, it is very easy to spot a teenager wearing a Nike t-shirt, and Adidas shoes, and listening to hip-hop music using apple airpods while eating at KFC. It is certain that slowly and steadily humans are getting influenced by western culture. So, the customs and traditions that took a thousand or more years to form are losing their existence. Additionally, globalisation has led to labour exploitation in underdeveloped nations. To cite an example, a labourer in Kenya is expected to work for 14 hours a day at a smelly Nike factory for merely fifty cents per hour. Thus, despite globalisation being a positive development to a great extent, it does have a lot of side effects which must be considered by governments so that they can take appropriate measures to resolve the issues and save their people and economy.