Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people are of the opinion that it should be mandatory for youngsters to study scientific subjects while others argue that they should have the freedom to choose what they want to study. While studying scientific subjects can provide more job opportunities for the future, subjects like humanities and philosophy are essential in their own right. This essay believes that pursuing their preferred fields of study helps students excel in life. Firstly, learners in fields of their own choice tend to fare much better in both, academic and professional aspects of their life. The majority of people who choose to work in Non-scientific fields excel at their jobs as passion and interest are both integral parts of work satisfaction. Therefore, it is agreed upon that students should have the right to study whatever they like as otherwise, they are being set up for a lifetime of resentment. Major studies in Germany conducted circa 2019 showed that individuals who pursued arts were a lot happier than their science-focused counterparts. However, it is also evident that studying scientific fields leads to an increased number of job opportunities. Scholars enrolled in Science tend to get more placements while still in university hence, it can argued that scientific fields provide more stability and opportunities for the learners. Despite this, a lot of undergraduates quit science altogether after acquiring their primary degrees as monetary satisfaction doesn't always equate to emotional and mental wellness. For instance, Post-Covid in 2020, many junior doctors in the UK quit their jobs to become teachers and travellers as they had experienced the intensity of a life in medicine. To conclude, even though studying scientific fields may lead to more career opportunities, it is imperative to take students' choices into account with respect to their choice of subjects as it leads to elevated chances of success and happiness.